[Skip to content]

Search our Site
HRCH logo

Local NHS trust celebrates success at annual Staff Awards

Winners of the Outstanding Clinical Team Award
Tissue Viability Team: Winners of the Outstanding Clinical Team Award
Thursday 19 November 2015

Hounslow and Richmond Community Healthcare NHS Trust celebrated the achievements of its most caring and committed staff at its annual staff awards event on Friday 13 November 2015.

Ricardo Gonzales, a district nurse at Teddington Health and Social Care Centre, and Vicky Johnson, a healthcare assistant at Whitton Corner were the joint winners for the prestigious ‘Clinician of the Year’ award. 

The trust’s tissue viability team won the ‘Clinical Team of the Year’ award – in recognition of their fantastic work in reducing pressure ulcers amongst patients across Hounslow and Richmond. 

Local patients and staff nominated the staff members they thought should win the 7 awards – which embody the trust’s mission, vision and values in all that they do for patients, colleagues and the local community.   The winners were selected by the staff awards selection panel, chaired by chairman Stephen Swords. 

Jennifer Morris, senior nurse from the tissue viability team - who won the clinical team of the year award, said: “I’m really pleased for our team because we worked really hard and my colleagues really deserve it with all the effort that they have put in. We’re very happy.” 

“Some of our patients come to see us long term and we love helping them on a daily basis and keeping things under control which means that they can have a relatively normal life. The patients do trust us and it’s good that they can feel that we care about them.” 

Over 150 nominations were received in total – with 26 NHS clinicians nominated for ‘Clinician of the Year’, and 16 clinical services were nominated for ‘Clinical Team of the Year.’ 

Chairman Stephen Swords said: “Congratulations to all of our winners and runners up for this year’s annual staff awards. The awards celebrate the achievements of our staff who go the extra mile for patients and colleagues every single day of the week. 

“It is important that we recognise and reward the fantastic care and hard work that our staff put in for local people in the community. But I believe the greatest achievement for staff is to be nominated for these awards by their peers – the patients and colleagues who they work alongside every day and who see first-hand the outstanding contributions that they make.”

    Staff Awards 2015 - the winners:

Clinician of the year 

Joint winners:

  • Ricardo Gonzales - District nursing at THSCC         
  • Vicky Johnson - Healthcare assistant, Whitton Corner           

Receptionist/administrator of the year 


  • Bela Martins - Paediatric therapies


Partner of the year                                


  • Jacki Percival – Assistant team manager, Community Response Service (Hounslow)                  


Support service hero                      


  • Suki Chandler – PA to the director of operations & director of finance


Inspirational leader of the year

Joint winners - district nursing managers:

  • Christine Jordan 
  • Rajiv Beechook 
  • Yomi Ognunsola 

Team awards: 

Outstanding clinical team 


  • Tissue viability    

Outstanding non-clinical team


  • IT team
Joint winner of the Clinician of The Year award - Vicky Johnson
Joint winner of the Clinician of The Year award - Vicky Johnson
Winner of the Receptionist/administrator of the year - Bela Martins
Winner of the Receptionist/administrator of the year - Bela Martins
Winners of the Inspirational Leader Award
Inspirational Leader Award - Christine Jordan, Rajiv Beechook, Yomi Ognunsola